Fabulous Fur Friends

Must Love Animals

Crafty

5 Comments

I have to admit that I’m not at all crafty, a little sneaky perhaps but not crafty.  Actually what I mean is that I prefer to buy things rather than make things!

As luck, or good judgement, has it, my hubby is very crafty – not at all sneaky – but very clever in making things.  A very handy person to have around, for many reasons.

This weekend’s good reason was that we needed a stand for our foster greyhound Billie’s food bowl.  Greyhounds are a bit like giraffes in that it’s awkward for them to eat from a bowl on the ground and it’s actually not good for them – it can cause bloat.

When we adopted April two years ago, hubby made a stand for her bowl from an old wire pot plant stand – perfect – it holds the bowl in place and is just the right height.

We have searched for a similar stand for Billie’s bowl but have not been able to find one.  So, with a little plagiarism from a greyhound facebook site, we scoured the local St Vinnies for an old chair and  for $20 found just the perfect thing.

We have recently built a very large garage in the back garden, so hubby has the perfect workspace to create very useful things.

What a greyt idea!

Amazing what a bar stool, a jigsaw, and an old bike tyre can be used for!

Perfect height for a greyhound

Nom noms!

If I was really crafty, I would strip it down, buff it up, paint it pretty colours and maybe even stencil Billie’s name on it.  But like I said, I’m not crafty!

What have you made that you’re proud of?

Author: Fabulous Fur Friends

My name is Kylie and I am passionate about animals and their welfare. My husband and I live in Bendigo, Australia and live with our three dogs - Rupie, Billie and Chelsea - all rescue dogs. I enjoy writing and aim to share health and welfare issues and updates as well as some short stories.

5 thoughts on “Crafty

  1. Hi there, I am laughing, not at your brilliant invention at… I live in the UK and we have similar things called Commodes, ( potty in a seat ) Billie sure looks like he’s enjoying his dinner 🙂 Have a great day xx000xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. That is a great idea! It would ease the strain of bending down to eat for tall dogs and large older dogs (like my old girl Maxi). Might have to show the hubby that one 🙂

  3. What a fab idea! I am now sat looking around to see what I can turn into a stand, the one we have is a shop bought one, but very wobbly and the water splashes out when nikki eats from the food bowl on the opposite side….I would quite like to make a bench into a four bowl stand if we do get greyhound number 2 😀

  4. Ah ha, I like your thinking – 2 greyhounds are a must! And yes, two feed bowls and 2 water bowls would be perfect!

Leave a Reply

