Fabulous Fur Friends

Must Love Animals

A New Perspective

4 Comments

A new year has arrived.  I won’t say Happy New Year as I’m not feeling so happy today – it’s my first year of my life without my Mum in it.  But I  know as time progresses it will bring some happiness to all of us who are missing her so much, especially my Dad, and we can look back at the wonderful times Mum shared with us. We’ve got some nice things to look forward to – a couple of holidays, including a European cruise later in the year.  We trust that we can remain healthy and we have each other to help us through the inevitable sad times.  We look forward to spending time with our beautiful fur kids, and of course with our friends.

This year I want to create more time to help animals in need and to explore some writing skills, perhaps expanding beyond my comfortable world of animals.  I’m considering a love story and  I already have some ideas of an amazing couple to base it on..

Our New Year’s Eve was spent quietly at home, and today, after dog walks and bike rides, we relaxed in the shade of our garden, catching up on the most recent theory of dog evolution and behaviour…  Rupie, April and Billie didn’t seem at all interested to learn of their heritage – snoozing was the only thing on their mind!

Wishing everyone a healthy and fulfilling 2013 and I look forward to continuing to gain inspiration from your blogs and adventures from home and around the world.

Billie sleeping off New Year's Eve!

Billie sleeping off New Year’s Eve!

April - not a worry in the world!

April – not a worry in the world!

Rupie enjoying his afternoon snooze in his kennel

Rupie enjoying his afternoon snooze in his kennel

A good read

A good read

Author: Fabulous Fur Friends

My name is Kylie and I am passionate about animals and their welfare. My husband and I live in Bendigo, Australia and live with our three dogs - Rupie, Billie and Chelsea - all rescue dogs. I enjoy writing and aim to share health and welfare issues and updates as well as some short stories.

4 thoughts on “A New Perspective

  1. Happy New Year to you and your family! We are celebrating our new year shoveling our drive with tons of snow. Since Christmas, we have been doing nothing but snow removal and probably got way over a foot of snow! We hope that the new year brings you much happiness and it is never easy when you lose a loved one. Keep your Mum’s memories alive in your heart! Give your Dad a hug from us!

    • Thanks Nikita I will certainly give Dad a hug. I don’t like the sound of all that snow… brrrrrr! We will be having temps in the high 30’s tomorrow (Celsius) which is a bit extreme the other way! Take care and stay warm.

  2. Happy New Year! We too had a quiet New Years Eve even though it was spent in Sydney, the dogs were well looked after by a good friend but I still worried about them when it came time for fireworks.

    I hope that as time goes by, the wonderful memories of your Mum and the memories that you will be creating on your travels will help lessen the sadness and the pain. Big hugs.

    • Thanks Sam, hope Bundy and Maxi weren’t too scared by the fireworks – Rupie and April don’t even bat an eyelid, but Billie was a bit nervous – not too bad though. Thanks for the thoughts and hugs – some days are ok, other times are very sad, especially when I think of Dad losing the love of his life of the past 60 years. But I know with support of family and friends, including blog friends, we’ll be ok. xx

Leave a Reply

