Fabulous Fur Friends

Must Love Animals

Winter Blues

12 Comments

Whilst some of you in the Northern Hemisphere are enjoying your Summer and seeing your gardens bloom, we, in the Southern Hemisphere are in the middle of Winter.  We can’t complain really, as by most standards it’s quite mild.  At this time of year it’s usually around 15 degrees Celsius as a daytime top temperature and about 8-10 degrees overnight.  This year in Melbourne we had a cold snap for night time temps when it was between 2 and 4 degrees for a whole week!  I know that might sound pretty reasonable to some of you, but we’re just not geared up properly for the cold like you are so it was a bit nippy.  The days were lovely and sunny though – clear skies with no wind and we’ve had temperatures reaching 18 and 19 degrees.  We haven’t had rain for nearly a month, which is very unusual in our part of the country – I’m contemplating giving the plants a bit of a water in fact.   I think we all know that weather patterns are changing and being more erratic – we’ve seen it all over the world.

Today I finally pruned my roses in the front garden.  It’s a month later than it should have been and the new growth was already starting to sprout!  I hope I’ll still get some lovely roses in the Spring!

Here are some photos of our very barren looking front garden after the pruning!

 

A weeping hybrid

A weeping hybrid

 

Roses pruned back to stumps!

Roses pruned back to stumps!

 

Our front verandah

Our front veranda

 

And of course we can’t forget the doggies at this time of year.  They had new jumpers this week and they seem very pleased with themselves.   They are all, as I write, snuggled in their respective bean bags with their fleecies on – the central heating is on too, mind you!

Rupie -he did get a new jumper like the girls, but it was too big for him and he seems happy in his little blue jumper!

Rupie did get a new jumper like the girls, but it was too big for him and he seems happy in his little blue jumper!

 

Miss April - doesn't like getting her photo taken, but she looks like a movie star in her  pretty starry jumper!

Miss April doesn’t like getting her photo taken, but she looks like a movie star in her pretty starry jumper!

 

Billie is quite the model in her Cheeky Cheetah print and struts around knowing how gorgeous she looks!

Billie is quite the model in her Cheeky Cheetah print and struts around knowing how gorgeous she looks!

 

For those of you in the Southern half of the world, stay warm, and for those in the North, I hope you are having a pleasant Summer and you are getting some time to be outside with your families, your pets and your plants!

 

 

Author: Fabulous Fur Friends

My name is Kylie and I am passionate about animals and their welfare. My husband and I live in Bendigo, Australia and live with our three dogs - Rupie, Billie and Chelsea - all rescue dogs. I enjoy writing and aim to share health and welfare issues and updates as well as some short stories.

12 thoughts on “Winter Blues

  1. Your bushes look like our garden – – – all pruned, but NOT by our choice! I loved this post of yours because what is neat about blogging and meeting bloggy friends as that everyone is all over the world! Doggies from France, to Mexico, Australia, to Wisconsin – it’s just amazing to me to be able to talk to everyone and follow along with them in their daily life. LOVE IT!

    Also, I just noticed that you do not have the option in your “share it” space for Pinterest. You should add that option to your blog so everyone can “pin” your things! Even if you do not have a Pinterest page yourself (which you should cause it is fun to pin things). I have a great pin board for Dogs and lots of other neat things I have come across.

    • Thanks for your comments Valerie. I have looked into adding Pinterest to my Share It space but can’t see how to add it. I think the ones above were auto added, not something I selected, but if you have some suggestions on where to find it on the dashboard I’d appreciate some assistance! I hope you are recovering from your garden shock and that you new plants will start to grow a little.

      • Let me check as to “where” this feature is and I’ll get back to you! To my surprise, it appears that the romaine lettuce is starting to regrow. And, the deer tried to get back into the fence the other night (again) too. Geez!

      • FOUND IT! Go to Settings —> then Sharing and make sure you enable Pinterest. There are also other items in this area that you can enable too. (like being able to email a post, print a post, etc.) Check back on one of my last posts at the bottom to see what I have up. Enable what you want & have fun! Let me know if I can help you further! {{hugs}}

      • Hi Val, thanks for the info, I have now added a few things – it’s great when we can share and learn from each other! Have a great day.

  2. Our winter weather this year has been a real bugger. For us it has been unseasonably wet, wet, wet and we’ve not been able to get the cattle truck in because its so slippery. The cattle dont mind as they are having feed we reserved for those left behind and their as yet unborn calves. Love those doggie jumpers. Paws crossed that “Huey” visits you real quick and leaves us alone. Joy

  3. I prune my gardenias in a similar fashion and hubby complains about the ‘stick garden’ for a couple of weeks but they grow back beautifully. It isn’t as cold up here but the lower than usual temperatures still took us by surprise, 14 degrees in the middle of the day is generally unheard of on the Gold Coast. Our doggies have their jumpers and blankies for the cooler nights, they sleep soundly when they’re warm and the house echoes with the sound of doggy snores 🙂

    Stay warm and I hope you are getting some nice sunny days now.

    • Thanks Sam – we’ve got some lovely sunny days coming up but cold nights! I have never pruned my gardenias – i watered them yesterday with some epsom salts to keep them green – perhaps I should try a light prune, or is it too late? My Rupert snores like a freight train – not a pleasant sound!! But at least he’s warm.

      • I have to give my gardenias epsom salts, some of the leaves have turned yellow, as for pruning I do it after they finish flowering. Last year I pruned them later and the larger plants didn’t flower, the smaller plants I only gave a light trim and they were absolutely covered with flowers 🙂

  4. Your friends are truly fabulous.
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

