Fabulous Fur Friends

Must Love Animals

A New Year, A New Dog

11 Comments

Happy New Year to all our friends in blog land.  I haven’t had much time lately to follow all your lovely posts so I do apologise.   I have been very involved with our rescue group – Amazing Greys – helping with the administration – answering emails, sending adoption and foster applications out, organising house checks, updating the website etc.  So I’m afraid my blog has been a little neglected of late.

But we have some good news to start the new year – we have foster failed again and will be keeping Chelsea!  Despite our best efforts, and my husband’s determination to prove that we can foster dogs without keeping them, she’ll be staying with us!

You may remember from the last post in September a few weeks after she’d arrived that she was a little CRAZY when out walking on seeing cats or other dogs, and jumps around like a lunatic when it’s walk time?  Well, she’s still a bit like that, but she has settled down a lot at home and gets on really well with Billie and Rupie – they have all become pretty good friends.

She’s quite the goofy girl and is extremely affectionate and even quite smart.  She’s learnt to sit when there’s food around (not an instinctive thing for a greyhound to do) and is no longer pushy when we sit down for our dinner.  She happily sleeps in her bean bag, or beside our bed all night and only jumps up in the morning for a cuddle.

It’s definitely more work to have 3 dogs than 2 (lots more poo to pick up!!), but she’s brought a lot of laughs into the house and she seems so happy here that it would be a shame to uproot her and get her settled with someone else.  (That’s our excuse anyway!)

So we’ve failed again – but it’s a good fail!!  Welcome Home Chelsea xx

 

 

 

Author: Fabulous Fur Friends

My name is Kylie and I am passionate about animals and their welfare. My husband and I live in Bendigo, Australia and live with our three dogs - Rupie, Billie and Chelsea - all rescue dogs. I enjoy writing and aim to share health and welfare issues and updates as well as some short stories.

11 thoughts on “A New Year, A New Dog

  1. Congrats on your new bundle of joy! How sweet is that! I love all of the photographs, but the one with the teddy bear is adorable. That’s got to be hard to foster a dog and NOT get attached to them. I know that I would have a problem with that and would want to keep them all. Glad to see you back in the blog world!

  2. Bless your sweet hearts for adopting Chelsea. It’s so sad when it doesn’t work with a family because of lack of patience or whatever if it’s a good fit to begin with. Having focused our rescue attempts mainly on rotties over the last 28 years, I know this all too well. You’ve a big beautiful heart and I’m so grateful to call you my friend. Big hug to Chelsea, Rupie, Billie, and of course a special one for you Kylie. Love, Paulette ❤

  3. Congrats on your foster fail! She sounds lovely xx

  4. I’d be a foster fail too! I think that the more ‘work’ you do with a dog that needs that extra help to settle in creates a strong bond and it would be difficult to let them go. Congratulations! She looks like quite a character and I love that last shot 🙂

Leave a Reply

