Fabulous Fur Friends

Must Love Animals

A Special Tribute

14 Comments

How do you say goodbye to your Mum?

I have not known life without her.  She was there when I was born (funnily enough!) and she loved me for 45 years.

She was there when I first walked and talked.  She took a photo on my first day of school.

When I wanted a horse, Mum was there to help me choose. She learnt alongside me how to care for him, she walked alongside me when I was too young to ride on my own.  She was there when I did my first show, and she picked me up when I had my first fall.  She carted hay in the old station wagon and trudged through the mud with us in winter.

Over the years we had dogs and cats, horses, sheep, goats and even a duck!  Mum was always there to help us care for them and I believe my love of animals today stemmed from learning what good friends they could be and how rewarding looking after them is.   Mum was a city girl and had never had pets until we moved to Healesville, but she learned along the way and grew to love the country life we had.

Mum was there to soothe a broken teenage heart and told me the right one would come along.  She was there at my wedding, standing beside us smiling her beautiful smile.

As a child you expect your mother’s care, as a teenager you take it for granted.  As a twenties-something, you’re too busy creating your own life to appreciate it.  But as I’ve matured in age and outlook, I’ve realised how lucky we were to have a mum who loved us constantly, consistently and unconditionally. She showed us what it meant to love and be loved, and the great love between Mum and Dad is something we should all aspire to.  We were never left wondering with Mum – always ready with a big smackaroo kiss on the cheek, a cuddle and telling us she loved us.

Mum was there for us always, she never let us down or disappointed us.  It was an honour to help care for her in the past four or five years and in some ways I feel I got to know her and love her even more.  Her true spirit shone through in the way she faced her challenges, and she was always grateful and gracious.

It has been a privilege to be part of such a caring family whose only concern was that mum was happy and comfortable and enjoying her days as much as she was able.

As Mum’s condition progressed, her spirit become more beautiful, if that could be possible.  She maintained her dignity and sense of humour and everyone who met her, even for the first time, would say “oh, she’s got a beautiful smile”.  Even on the bad days, it would light up her face and we’d all smile too.  She even developed a little bit of a wicked laugh!  She knew when she was being cheeky and put on funny accents – her favourite was the posh one – so we’d all have to be posh too!

Mum had a few quirky little sayings, but one that particularly stays with me and has become part of our family’s vocabulary, is one I’d like to share with you.  Sometime over the years, I can’t recall when, Mum started saying “Oooooh, that’s a lovely breeze” when a soft wind would pass over her to cool down a hot day.  I now find myself saying it, and perhaps now you will too, and know that it’s Mum popping by to wrap her arms around you to let you know she’s ok and is looking over us all.   And no doubt she will have a beautiful smile on her face.

So, how do you say goodbye to your Mum?

You can’t. You just say thank you Mum for being the best mum a girl could hope for.  I will love you always and I wish you a peaceful sleep, our beautiful princess.

Bokey – our first dog – he was a Border Collie x Lab

Mum helping me wash my first horse, Toffee

Muffin was my sister’s cat, but stayed with Mum and Dad and became Mum’s great little friend

A very beautiful lady – her smile lit up her face and everyone who saw it

A handsome couple

Mum and Dad were in love for over 55 years – we shall all miss her terribly.

Author: Fabulous Fur Friends

My name is Kylie and I am passionate about animals and their welfare. My husband and I live in Bendigo, Australia and live with our three dogs - Rupie, Billie and Chelsea - all rescue dogs. I enjoy writing and aim to share health and welfare issues and updates as well as some short stories.

14 thoughts on “A Special Tribute

  1. My heart goes out to you. Your Mom sounds like the most wonderful person. You are right, it is only as we get to our kind of age that we truly appreciate them for the unconditional love and security they have given us. I am truly sorry for your loss. I understand that there are no words which can be said to help you through the pain but may God give you strength during this incredibly difficult time.

  2. Kylie this is beautiful and it is very good to help your self though this by writing it all down although you will never forget this is a grand way to help the healing process you will get better but also you will never forget as she still lives in your heart. Talking about her is also a very good way to help your heal. She sounded like a lovely lady and I am sadden by never meeting her but I know that she will live on in her lovely daughter. Let Rupie April and Billie comfort you and lick those tears away. Mike will also be there for you. so will the lonely pets

  3. Beautiful tribute, this brought tears to my eyes, I can’t even imagine what you are going through and the strength that took to write this.
    Thanks for sharing.

  4. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful, beautiful, sincere tribute to your Mom. We are so sorry to hear of your loss. Losing a parent is the most difficult thing to go through, but remembering her how you just did, was so touching and I am sure it helped you a bit to get through your own pain. We are always here for you, in case you need to talk. Thinking of you today and you are in our prayers. XO

  5. Thank you for your very kind words Nikita – i appreciate your offer to talk.

  6. I think you said it beautifully, remembering the wonderful moments and the things that made your Mum special to you is the perfect way to honour her and the legacy she left. Thank you for sharing your Mum with us and may the love of your family, fur kids and friends help you through this sad time.

  7. I enjoyed reading about your Mum and your love for her, and I am very sorry you have lost her.

  8. I am so very sorry for your loss. There is no way to say goodbye, but the way you honored your Mom here in your writing is so special, thank you for sharing a part of her beautiful story with us. I like her saying about the breeze too, i’ll keep it close to my heart.

    Sending lots of love and caring wishes for you and your family xo

  9. Pingback: Pet Blogger Exchange and Happy Christmas « Fabulous Fur Friends

Leave a comment