Fabulous Fur Friends

Must Love Animals

North Wind Blowing

8 Comments

We live in the southern part of Australia, so when a North wind blows, the temperature gets very high!  The North winds bring the hot air down from central Australia and they pick up speed and heat, so that by the time they get to us in Melbourne, we have quite an unpleasant day with strong, blustery, hot winds and temperatures approaching 40 degrees Celsius.

Today is one of those days.  The blinds get shut early and the fan goes on.  The dogs are taken for a quick walk, then shut inside with lots of water.

We batten down the hatches and try not to use the car – the heat inside a locked car can get to over 50 degrees and even with the best air-conditioning system, it takes a while to cool down.

Even though the dogs stay inside on these days (and most other days!), often with air-conditioning on, we thought it would be fun to buy them a wading pool…..

Looks inviting, doesn't it?

Looks inviting, doesn’t it?

Mike encouraging Billie to try the pool

Mike encouraging Billie to try the pool

And Billie getting out of the pool and going back inside!

And Billie getting out of the pool and going back inside!

Oh well, I guess it’s on with the air-conditioner (it’s 36 degrees as I type, heading for 37 or beyond), think serene  thoughts and wait for the cool change to come!

Ahh, that's nice!

Ahh, that’s nice!

Author: Fabulous Fur Friends

My name is Kylie and I am passionate about animals and their welfare. My husband and I live in Bendigo, Australia and live with our three dogs - Rupie, Billie and Chelsea - all rescue dogs. I enjoy writing and aim to share health and welfare issues and updates as well as some short stories.

8 thoughts on “North Wind Blowing

  1. It’s always interesting to hear about the different weather around the world. It’s raining here today, but it’s cold and we will be having snow arrive next week. No wading pools for us over here! LOL

  2. I am so happy that our long, hot, humid summer has ended. We had those temps for days on end.

    • I wouldn’t like to have them for days on end…..we don’t usually get more than a few before we get a summer storm (looks like one’s brewing right now actually), and then it cools down for a few days, lets us catch our breath before it heats up again!

  3. All that trouble and the dog goes back inside 😀 Oh well, maybe another time. My word, that’s way too hot for me. 28 is about as hot as I can take it.

  4. That looks like a great idea to keep your dog cool! I like the shape and colour too – it’s really pretty! 😉

    By the way, I’ve been paired with you for the ‘Pet Blogger Gift Exchange’, although you probably have already got an email about it. I thought I would just start by saying that I love your blog and I think the photos, stories and information on here are great!

    Hannah

  5. Summer is the only time our dogs like having a bath, although we have to let the water run for a while because it comes out almost boiling 😦

  6. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

